YFT question

Discussion in 'Pelagics' started by Phantom Fisherman, Nov 21, 2008.

1. Does anyone know why some YFT have short sickles and some have long sickles? Is this an Allison vs YFT thing or just an idividual tuna thing. Just a wondering. Nothing better to do.

Phantom Fisherman

2. lite-liner

lite-liner troll enforcement Staff Member

funny, I was just reading Eddie's post & wondering the same thing!
    It sems in comparing gulf yft's to Pacific yft's, a 100# fish from the gulf has sickles 2' long or longer, while most 250+lb. yft's I've seen from the Pacific
    have sickles barely 12" long?
    I was wondering about the Allison's thing, but I really don't know the physical, range, foodsource, temp differences between them.
    Hey Pope! can you help us out on this one?
    -Brian

3. jaredchasteen

jaredchasteen Senior Member

I believe this is a diferent fish. But I am not a scientist. Our tuna don't get as big. What do the ones miles catches look like.

4. lite-liner

I've looked @ a few of his pics, & it seems they're the shorter-fin models, too.
    Matter of fact, I haven't seen any YFT that grow bigger sickles than in the gulf, other than the pics I've seen from the Mediterranean.
    -B

5. shanker

shanker Senior Member

Here is my Theory:

Gulf Yellowfin Tuna more than likely do not have the abundance of food here as they do elsewhere.

So what me may be seeing are fish that are older, which could be a reason why their sickle fins are longer, but their body size is not quite the size as what is seen in the Pacific Oceans.

Thats just my un-educated theory.

I know that lots of fisherman say that the ONLY reason Tuna are not closer to shore in Texas is not because of water depth, but because of abundance of food.

6. BretABaker

BretABaker Guest

the sickles in the gulf are bigger than ive seen elsewhere....pacific or northeast. i would be curious to see whether bigeye have longer sickles here than up north.

7. Cudakilla