Yankee Capt/Halfway Ledge?

Discussion in 'JiggingWorld.com' started by Tarpun, Sep 8, 2020.

1. Tarpun

Tarpun Junior member

I'm a jigging rookie going on a Halfway Ledge trip on the YC in the near future. What weight SP jigs will I use the most? I've made trips on the boat and know conditions can vary. Just trying to make sure I've got what I need. Thanks

2. Snaphappy

Snaphappy Senior Member

250 gram...sometimes down to 180 and up to 400 but 220 to 280 90 percent of the time.

3. Tarpun

Tarpun Junior member

Thanks for the info. Pretty solid on the 200 to 250gr. stuff. I'll have to pick up more of the heavier jigs.

jon holsenbeck and Snaphappy like this.
  4. Tarpun

Tarpun Junior member

Filled out my SPJ needs for my upcoming YC Halfway Ledge Trip. I called Johnny Jigs in Pompano Beach and Chris and Will hooked me up with what I needed. They have a good bit of jigging experience fishing on the Yankee Capts. so they knew what I needed as I didn't know what I didn't know. Great guys to deal with, good service and reasonable prices. Now I just need to watch, listen and spend time on the rail. Hopefully we won't have tropical storm issues.

tugasangler likes this.
  5. tugasangler

tugasangler Fishing Guru

Hope for jigable current .

Tarpun likes this.
  6. TabsUp

TabsUp Well-Known Member

Just out of curiosity, what did they tell you that you needed?

explorer and tugasangler like this.
  7. Joe Columbo

Joe Columbo Junior member

You will be very happy on the Yankee. It is by far my favorite boat to jig on. The staff is great, the cook whips up some delicious meals, and Captain Greg goes out of his way to put you on fish. He can be a bit cutting at times but he is trying to help.

tugasangler, Snaphappy and Tarpun like this.
  8. Tarpun

Tarpun Junior member