would this set up work?

Discussion in 'Pelagics' started by jojo, Oct 12, 2006.

1. jojo

jojo Member

This would be for throwing poppers or any other surface lure
    one calcutta 700 with 65# Power Pro
    one 7foot ugly stick tiger 20-50 rate

2. Deep_Sea_Gull

Deep_Sea_Gull Lifetime Supporting Members

Ragman will be along shortly and tell you about the drag limitations of this reel. I have watched him use the reel. And use the reel... And.... He caught the yft. :)

Throwing ain't the problem. It does that well. I think that your rod would be good for that too. Putting the brakes on the fish is the problem. It ain't fun knowing that the bite could end at any moment and everybody on the boat is watching the seesaw between one angler and his fish.

3. jojo

jojo Member

Or I could go with the Penn 8500 with 80# Power Pro and get one of those Trevala rods ???

4. MO1

MO1 Member

JoJo-
    I am no expert, but have been gearing up for an upcoming 52hr. the article written by Minnow on this site (go to Community lounge > articles ) has some great info on what to take.
    good luck
    MO

5. PiePuncher

PiePuncher Senior Member

get a good spinner for throwing tops(I am not an expert in the tuna field but have been there and done that) There are quite a few affordable ones. The 700 will get raped and you will work your butt off to land a big fish on that reel. Casting will be easier and quicker using the spinner, as you do not have to worry about backlashes. I thought about using my 700 matched with trevalla but after having caught a 145lb tuna, i wouldnt pick up the 700 if fish were around. I would hate to hook into anything over 80lbs on the 700 and using anything lighter than extra heavy trevalla will be like fishing with a noodle. If you do use the 700, upgrade the drag.
    Affordable spinners are the thunnus, bait runner, Cabo, and maybe the penn 8500 or 9500. If you have tons of rods and reels and cash to spare, I am sure McGolfer has a few good ideas.