Where to tie on Hammered Jig?

Discussion in 'Jigging and Popping' started by fman, Jan 30, 2009.

1. fman

fman Guest

I was looking back on some pics of people using the hammered jigs and catching everything! I am new to jigging and have a few questions about it that particular jig.

1. Is it best to tie the jig directly to the mono leader or is it bestto use swivel and split ring?

2. Most come with a hook attached. If their is no split ring connecting the hook, how do you get the old hook off?

Thank you! More than likely more questions to come!

2. obtuseangler

obtuseangler Junior member

1. I have used both a swivel and tiesd directly to the mono (doubling it with a spider hitch) and found no difference.

2. cut the old hook off and use a split ring for the new hook or attach a siwash (open eye) hook directly to the jig.

3. workin

workin Member

I was looking back on some pics of people using the hammered jigs and catching everything! I am new to jigging and have a few questions about it that particular jig.

1. Is it best to tie the jig directly to the mono leader or is it bestto use swivel and split ring?

2. Most come with a hook attached. If their is no split ring connecting the hook, how do you get the old hook off?

Thank you! More than likely more questions to come!

Hey,

The hammered diamond jigs I'm familiar with come with a J-hook attached to the tail. If you want to leave that on, just tie your leader direct to the other end. A palomar knot is as good as any.

If you want to go to an assist hook rig, get rid of the J-hook and tie your leader to a solid ring with the assist hook cord attached to it, then attach the jig to the solid ring with a split ring. You can find basic assist hook rigging instructions on a lot of sites; try Angler's Pro Shop site.