360 Tuna Fishers Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I was wondering what kind of boats people use in the NE? The reason why is that I was offered a job in New Jersey and I just might take it. Of course I will need a boat that can handle some of the rougher waters you all encounter in that area. I was looking for something in the 23-26 ft range, ebay had several boats that looked interesting. Trophy 2503(nice casting platform), Ocean Master 27ft, also with a nice casting platform, and a 2000 SeaCraft 25 ft. How would these boats do? What makes a good offshore boats? I have very little experience other than pangas. Thanks

Ed

·
34 Posts
i have a 252 coastal from wellcraft, on a trailer, great for trolling, but not much room for casting, keeps us nice and dry most of the time

·
723 Posts
Hi,
I was wondering what kind of boats people use in the NE? The reason why is that I was offered a job in New Jersey and I just might take it. Of course I will need a boat that can handle some of the rougher waters you all encounter in that area. I was looking for something in the 23-26 ft range, ebay had several boats that looked interesting. Trophy 2503(nice casting platform), Ocean Master 27ft, also with a nice casting platform, and a 2000 SeaCraft 25 ft. How would these boats do? What makes a good offshore boats? I have very little experience other than pangas. Thanks

Ed

Ed,

You are likely to get 1000 different opinions on this. To me, the most important things for a good North East Offshore boat are:

1. A place to get out of the weather (Cuddy Cabin, or very good canvas enclosure).
2. It must take rough seas well, without "slamming". It has to be able to "cut through" a steep 3 to 4 foot chop without knocking the teeth out of your head.....
3. Large fishing cockpit
4. Reliability, and good fuel economy.
5. Easily trailered.