what is the best 80# popping blank on the market

Discussion in 'Rods and Rod Blanks' started by mike garone, Dec 27, 2008.

1. mike garone

mike garone Well-Known Member

Hey guys,

I am new to the tuna popping game and want to build a rod for this application. I will be matching it with a saltiga 6500 dogfight. I have one rod that I am in the process of building for fishing 16-18 pounds of drag, but I also want one that can handle heavier drags (20-28#) and bigger fish (Cape Cod Bluefin). I want something in the 7'-8' range that is rated for 80# line and can still throw light poppers. I know this blank might not exist but what the hell can't know till I ask.

2. thenewkid

thenewkid Senior Member

OTI 7'6" 80lb 2piece 30lb max drag

3. ksong

ksong SPONSOR

If you like one piece rod, check St Croix 7'6" 4M76XHF.
    The blank is amazingly light (5 1/2oz), but is rated upto 80 lbs.
    I have a jigging rod out of the blank and it weighs only 12 1/2 oz.

4. mike garone

If you like one piece rod, check St Croix 7'6" 4M76XHF.
    The blank is amazingly light (5 1/2oz), but is rated upto 80 lbs.
    I have a jigging rod out of the blank and it weighs only 12 1/2 oz.

What size bluefin would you be comfortable targeting with this rod and what type of drag?

5. d-a

d-a Senior Member

What size bluefin would you be comfortable targeting with this rod and what type of drag?

Mike have you seen the price of that blank? I can buy 2 OTI blanks that I know will handle 20+ lbs of drag for the same price as one of them.

I have been eying it for a few years now and cant seem to pull the trigger on it when I know I can PM Minnow on here and have a 80lb popping blank by the end of the week.

just my 2 cents worth

d-a

6. kidflex

kidflex Senior Member

ive been wanting to check that blank out myself but too pricey.

7. VaRandy

VaRandy Site Sponsor

It is the CTS blank, 8 foot and I believe weighing under 4 oz (all graphite).