West Coast Long Range charter report

Discussion in 'Pelagics' started by fishordie, Mar 2, 2009.

1. fishordie

fishordie Senior Member

Once again I was fortunate enough to be able to jump on one of Big Tuna Bill's ultra long range charters leaving Feb. 13 and returned yesterday, March 1. This time we were on the Big Bird, Red Rooster III, skippered by Andy Cates who along with an amazing crew and front office provided a top of the line experience for one and all.

The boat was scheduled to leave around 9 AM and most everyone was there plenty early. I got a chance to meet everyone and discovered we had anglers with experience that ranged from the most highly experienced to the complete novice. I know there have been discussions on this board about folks working their way up the long distance time frames but I have never agreed with that philosophy and I believe this trip was a great example where a complete new comer came away with an experience of a life time. But I will get more into that later.

Super light load of 16 passengers made loading quick and easy. The crew was everywhere and anywhere making sure the passengers were pampered and assisted in whatever capacity was needed. The jokes and fun began almost immediately between the crew and folks who have been on this charter for years. It took no time at all for that commeraderie to filter down to all the rest of the group.

We hit the Bait dock and with tanks and slammers full we head south not knowing yet exactly where we would begin this adventure. At some point in the first few days our bow was pointed about half way between Hurricane Bank, where the RP was holding court, and Clarion Island. Final decision was we would begin our journey at Clarion and a great decision it was.