twin spin 30 vs. stella 20k?

Discussion in 'Reels' started by mad mike, Nov 27, 2008.

1. mad mike

mad mike Junior member

Trying to narrow things down one purchase only 100+ bft calstar 700h

2. Minnow

Minnow Administrator

Both are good reel, but I prefer Stella 20k.

3. ToneyC

ToneyC Senior Member

Stella, Twinspin, Saltiga...

IMO, when you purchase reels of this caliber you can't go wrong either way you go.

Good luck with your choice. Trust me when I say that a decision, as difficult as this, will probably make you lose sleep, lol.

4. Bellyups

Bellyups Senior Member

I have never owned an Accurate, and I have no experience with the stella SWs, but I love my stella FAs. Stella FAs have 3 large fiber drag washers in the back of the spool and several smaller washers in the front of the spool. The accurate appears to have one large fiber washer in front and one behind the spool. I would prefer the reel with more drag washers and surface area. The stella FA wins, IMO, in this perspective. They both have 2 quality bearings in the spool. IMO, the stella handle is much easier to turn. I don't like stiff turning handles. I can't speak for the accurate, but the stella FAs are pretty watertight. The SWs appear even more water tight. Shimano also makes incredible bicycle components/gearing/etc. and this just carries over to their reels, IMO.

I think the accurates look better. I like the solid silver.

I really like the shimano handles.

Shimano's super slow oscilation works great.

Shimano FA is considerably cheaper.

Here are the schematics on a accurate

http://www.accuratefishing.com//pdfs/SR-30.IPB.pdf

And here are the stella 20000 FA schematics
    http://fish.shimano.com/media/fishing/SAC/techdocs/en/Spinning/03STL_20000fa_v1_m56577569830615160.pdf

HTHs.

5. d-a

d-a Senior Member

I have never seen a stella fail, But i have seen an accurate fail.

Take it for what its worth

d-a

6. Uncle Russ

Uncle Russ Senior Member