tuna rod

Discussion in 'Rods and Rod Blanks' started by squidboy, Jun 10, 2008.

1. squidboy

squidboy Junior member

Im putting together a 80lb set up for tuna and need some help with a rod. Im a college student and dont want to break the bank any suggestions.

2. mcgolfer

mcgolfer Guest

more information might help someone head you in the right direction. spinning or conventional. casting for tuna,jigging, or chunking or all? private boat or headboat? what's your budget? low end would be a ugly stick for a conventional reel. there are lots of options that will get the job done just not quickly....rick

3. Muddskipper

Muddskipper Senior Member

Without going with a custom rod...ie Calstar, Seeker, Savage, OTI...

I would Look into the Fishing Tackle Unlimited Rods.....just under $200

If it breaks you can take it back, the have applications for Spinning or Casting reels.....and there is a selection, for your type of fishing.....

4. Mitchw123456

Mitchw123456 Senior Member

good rod for a good price are the Sea Magic rods if you want to sttay non custom. Or you could go to ebay and check out bar-bar rods as he makes some very good rods that are inexpensive when he uses the batson blanks

5. squidboy

squidboy Junior member

I would be a conventional rod, It would be used for my private boat and for party boat tuna trips. fished from a harness should i go straight or bent butt. chunking and trolling.

6. mcgolfer

mcgolfer Guest

the bent butt if used in a harness probably should be a short bent butt. however if you want to troll the short bent butts don't reach the centering bolts in most rod holders so they have the chance of being yanked out of the rod holders by a strike. so if you want to troll with it get a straight butt and you can also use it in the harness. the regular length bent butt puts the reel a long way from your body and makes it hard to reel....rick

7. jureal

jureal Senior Member