360 Tuna Fishers Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
2,622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know Tampa isn't near any deep water and isn't the best choice for tuna fishing but this is where I live and it's where my boats are. I have a big enough boat to run offshore a hundred miles or more. I know from some friends that it's not uncommon to run into small tuna around the off-shore shrimp boats in the spring but I've never tried that before. Normally that time of year we're targeting tarpon.

So have any of you fished for tuna in this area and have any thoughts?

·
131 Posts
Mike,

You probably know, Blackfin Tuna are the most common tuna here off west-central FL. You can start finding them in 80-100' of water.

As you said, Yellowfin are found at around the 100 mile mark off Tampa -- a heck of a boat ride, starting at The Steps. I've never heard of anyone who has successfully targeted them, they find them primarily by trolling at the 100 mile mark or further.

You might want to call the Old Salt's Fishing Club in St. Pete. At their offshore tournament each August there is usually someone who brings a decent one to the scales. They might have some info for you.

Tom

·
2,622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks Tom; if I try it you're welcome to come along, with decent seas we can be out there in two hours. I'll call and see what I can find out.

·
-- Tackle Ho --
2,784 Posts
I was fishing in the desoto tournament this past year, many people caught nice size blackfin and we were about 70 miles out when we saw bunch of them crashing on top and trust me it wasnt bonito, we were very close to them but they didnt take any lures when i cast at them. We caught 2 of them right at sun down on the cedar plug though. When we found them there waa bunch of weed but not a define line just bunch of broken weed.

·
2,622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·