Tufftackle Diablo 9000 series 3

Discussion in 'Reels' started by ekimus, May 13, 2009.

1. ekimus

ekimus Guest

G'day I was wondering if anyone has used this reel and if yes, how was it:)

2. tmd

tmd Large Member

3. JTenison

JTenison Guest

Hi ekimus, I was scanning the net looking for rods for this reel, when I found your post.
    I work as a deckie part time for TrackAir, fishing, scuba diving, hunting, Air Tours,Adventures

We have 5 of these reels, the one that review is a series 2 , I have 1 of those, and a series 1 which has a black spool.

We got 3 series 3 reels about a month ago, and they are even better than the older ones, they feel much smoother, and retieve with alot more grunt than the older ones.

The first one we bought a year ago still feels the same as the day we got it, and it's done alot of work on 100mtr bottom bashing on stripy trumpeter and gummy sharks up to a personal record 35kg one.

The handle on the new ones is even better than the older ones, it feels great, we bought ours with spare spools, and the spool fitting is totaly different to the first ones, but defiantely better then the series 1 and 2

The drag on the old ones was pretty good, but adjustment was very course, if you where on 5 kg of drag, it would adjust to about 10kg with a couple of clicks, the series 3 has this fixed by the look of it. The suppllier said it was 1/2 turn per 5kg of drag, which seems about right now.

It doesn't mention on their website that they reshim the reels after 3 years of heavy use, as part of the warranty for free, my boss was stoked that he doesn't have to do any major maintenance on these, as we killed a shimano saragosa in less than 3 months,it's got heaps of play in the gears now