Top Shot Adhesives?

Discussion in 'Tackle and Rigging' started by emorgan, Apr 23, 2009.

1. emorgan

emorgan Member

Ok, I am a beginner but I am willing to learn from yall's experience. I am wanting to learn how to connect spectra and mono or fluoro. I have the threading needles, 300 yards of 200# Jerry Brown Spectra and some 80# Seguar Flouro. I can do the double over serving of spectra with a small loop to 4 feet and insert the mono just fine.
    Where I have questions is the adhesive to be used and how to use it (which brand do you most people use), since the doubled over spectra is like a sock one inside the other over the mono do you glue only the inner spectra or glue both at the same time? Which adhesive is better for this and why. I will also be serving over the connection to complete it and will the same adhesive be ok to use to seal the serving threads?
    One last question, will the adhesive have any adverse reaction with the mono if it touches it anywhere?

Thanks, Emorgan

2. pametfisher

pametfisher Senior Member

Ok, I am a beginner but I am willing to learn from yall's experience. I am wanting to learn how to connect spectra and mono or fluoro. I have the threading needles, 300 yards of 200# Jerry Brown Spectra and some 80# Seguar Flouro. I can do the double over serving of spectra with a small loop to 4 feet and insert the mono just fine.
    Where I have questions is the adhesive to be used and how to use it (which brand do you most people use), since the doubled over spectra is like a sock one inside the other over the mono do you glue only the inner spectra or glue both at the same time? Which adhesive is better for this and why. I will also be serving over the connection to complete it and will the same adhesive be ok to use to seal the serving threads?
    One last question, will the adhesive have any adverse reaction with the mono if it touches it anywhere?

Thanks, Emorgan
    How far are you planning to insert the mono/fluoro?