tog/seabass rod choices

Discussion in 'Rods and Rod Blanks' started by Depraved, Oct 16, 2008.

1. Depraved

Depraved Cabo is a POS

Hi im kinda new to boat fishing but i do alot of surf fishing.
    Im just starting to get into party boat fishing and looking for recommendations for an 8ft rod for tog/seabass/bait rod
    I was thinking maybe a calstar 800m or a seeker 670 or are there better options trying to keep it under $250... Thanks for any and all advice

2. Capt Richie

Capt Richie Site Sponsor

Calstar " L " may be a better choice..The M is on the heavy side for seabass & blackfish.....The seeker 670 to soft in the tip I would go with the Seeker BCBW8098T.....

3. Tunaman40

Tunaman40 Junior member

I have a Calstar 700L with a shimano Torium 20. Sweet combo for sea bass and tog ;)

4. peterk814

peterk814 Senior Member

GFX800M would be a good choice. I have a 700L i use for fluking which i think is too light for toggin. Best option would be to try bending some blanks or rods to see what your thoughts are. 700L with 10oz of lead its way too noodled already

5. paul708

paul708 Site Sponsor

i think the M would be a good choice for PB and bait..

there is a lami only comes in blank not built rod..we use for toggin and seabass
    i used it this year for tiles and grouper in NC

6. Capt Richie

Capt Richie Site Sponsor

The M is a 20-50 blank ...You guys fish way to heavy....The L 15-30 lb is to light try the ML...20-30.........

7. Depraved

Depraved Cabo is a POS

Thanks for the input :)

8. Billy 40

Billy 40 Senior Member