Tady / Salas jigs; Tuna Sniper rod

Discussion in 'Jigging and Popping' started by JayP, Feb 7, 2009.

1. JayP

JayP Member

I'm fairly new to vertical jigging but did a fair amount off the coast of VA last year and had success with bluefin, cobia, and bottom fish. Mostly the fish that we caught were within 30 feet of the bottom, and it seemed easier to mark bait and and/or fish on the sonar down deep where there's less noise and the sonar cone is bigger.

On some days we outfished the trollers and chunkers, but on other days the trollers were catching fish up in the water column when we weren't seeing any fish or bait on the sonar. I know the fish were in the general area from the trollers catching them, but jigging up in the water column felt like finding a needle in a haystack and we didn't have much luck with that at all. I'm pretty sure if there were fish within striking distance they would have hit, unless they were scared off by the boat... How close beneath the boat have you caught tuna?

On the West Coast fishing sites there's a lot about Tady and Salas style jigs / irons where you cast out as far as possible, let the lure sink and then retrieve it and it has a swimming action. They use them for YFT, wahoo, and a bunch of other species. I'm just curious why nobody on these forums has mentioned this style of lure? Is it that they're not as good on the East Coast or Gulf for some reason, or maybe people just haven't tried them much?