Stella 20000 SW Braid Recommendations

Discussion in 'Reels' started by offshoreman, Sep 3, 2009.

1. offshoreman

offshoreman Junior member

Just received my new Stella 20000SW. Getting ready to spool it up, I was going to spool it up with 80Lb. hollow core. What do you guys recommend? How much 80lb. hollow will it hold? I'm new to jigging, but have fished saltwater for the past 30+ years.

2. Jason4606

Jason4606 Tuna Club member

I'm pretty sure it holds 400yds of 80lb OTI braid. For jigging you will really appreciate the color coded line.

3. pametfisher

pametfisher Senior Member

My strongest recommendation would be to have BHP Tackle spool it with 60# JB hollow-weave. I have tested it four times this year, and the breaking strength has been running between 95 and 110 lbs. That makes it better than many 80# lines. BHP has a spinning reel winder that can apply over 12 lbs. tension and the spools come through very tightly packed, the last ones took over 500 yards. I have handled several spools for wind-on leader customers and the spools have been very well wound.

Splice End Loops and you have no loss of strength then think about making or buying wind-on leaders. Just get ones that stand up to load-cycling and casting.

4. gman

gman Senior Member

I dont suggest hollowcore for jigging I feel it gets caught up in the water, it seems to sink at a different rate than solid braids especially in deeper water. I would spool up about 400 yards of solid 80 braid

5. hatidua

hatidua Senior Member

Unless you REALLY enjoy the current taking your line sideways, steer clear of 80# string. You DO NOT need it for vertical jigging and 60# works so much better.

6. BretABaker

BretABaker Guest