Solid braid wind on leader

Discussion in 'Tackle and Rigging' started by Fishhead56, Aug 4, 2009.

1. Fishhead56

Fishhead56 Senior Member

A couple of things drove me to figure out how to tie a wind on leader with
    solid braid.
    1, I am not good at splicing hollow.
    2, I wind up with a lot of short spools of solid braid,
    3, I had the tools on hand from building Page Ranking knots.
    4. Although I may start a trip with a P. R. knot to leader.. While at sea and a leader needs to be replaced. I feel much better tying Bimini twist and adding a wind on
    5, The idea came to me .:eek:

This is basically a version of the P. R. knot. I've been tying it for a little while and have made some adjustments as I thought would make it secure and dependable. I have now fished it several times without failure. So I thought I would share. I have not seen a leader built like this but I figure someone somewhere has done same or similar. I have tied this with 50 to 100 lb solid braids and 80 to 220 lb leader material.

So in about 10 mins this is what I do.
    Add about 6 feet of braid to bobbin
    With lighter prep leader end same as for P. R
    Tie uni knot with braid to leader 6 inches from tag end , wrap braid around leader at about 1 wrap per inch.
    Add 2 half hitches about 3\8 inch from end of leader. Counter rotate uni and half hitches to insure braid is firm to leader.

Make short 3 inch loop with braid and tie 2 half hitches against first set of half hitches and end of leader. This will leave about 1\4 inch of tag end on leader.
    Lay\wrap braid right next to first set of wraps. (I tried a cross or opposite wrap but that did not hold as well when load testing). Finish this direction of wrap with 1\2 inch of tight serve up against the uni. (This helps lock the uni in place)

Make tight serve back to tag end same as you would with P. R. knot including on top of the half hitches just before the tag end..