Shimano butterfly jigs...

Discussion in 'Jigging and Popping' started by VaRandy, May 27, 2008.

1. VaRandy

VaRandy Site Sponsor

I am new to the world of jigging and have the following questions.

Retail small new Butterfly jigs (including the glow models) are selling for $20 retail for the small ones (no hooks) and are made in Japan.

Others that also say Shimano Butterfly "flat" models near the same size are made in China and sell for half of that. The $20 one does not have flat sides.
    Will they fall the same or not?

How important is either for different species or am I making too much about it?

Thanks

2. gman

gman Senior Member

Shimano released two types of jigs ...

1. Butterfly (retails for up to $24 a jig). This jig is symetrical in shape and has great reflective appearance, made up to 270g and is made specifically for jigging vertical. The jigs are made to react to a vertical presentation and aren't as effective if there is a strong current which will make the jig go more horizontal hence the birth of the flat sided jigs

2. Butterfly flat sided (retail for $17.99) This jig has one solid mettalic side in either gold or silver and one painted side, made up to 325g These jigs are shaped differently with one flat side and are made to be fished from a non vertical position in a heavy drift

3. etan

etan Senior Member

There are lots of good jigs out there. Williamson, River2Sea, diamond jig, OTI, etc. all catch fish. Jigging is mostly personal preference. When we started fishing tuna on the headboats in Port Aransas in 2002 the Tady 4/0 was the hot jig. Everything works some time!

4. Fishhead56

Fishhead56 Senior Member

Yes alot of good Jigs are on the market, it has grown simulair as the US wine and beer market. Choose what you like.
    Get good terminal tackle, hooks ect.
    OTI covers such.

5. Deep_Sea_Gull

Deep_Sea_Gull Lifetime Supporting Members

Do you want a blonde or a redhead???

They all work. Some are better on different days.