360 Tuna Fishers Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Question for those in the know: how do these two manufacturers treat warranty for their top-end reels? Anyone have any negative experiences?

Also, if buying from EBay—does it matter who I purchase from so long as reel is new? There are good deals from individuals and Japanese stores alike and wondering if it’s worth it to save 100-200 bucks and if that changes how these two treat any warranty work.

Thanks!

· Registered
73 Posts
Shimano USA will not service the reels purchased from a Japanese vendor.....I believe they can tell by the serial numbers....Other then that Shimanos service on the Stellas have been phenomenal...I send them back every year and you get a brand new reel back, they change pretty much all the internals even if they dont need to..I have no experience with Daiwa

· Registered
68 Posts
I just posted a positive experience I just had with Daiwa in another thread BUT unless you’re the first owner and purchased from an actual dealer you will not get their clean/warranty program. I’d be more apt to buy a JDM shimano (maybe not the stella as the platinum service plan is probably with a few hundred bucks over the life of the reel) as finding parts and self servicing are doable. For Daiwa, you need a special tool (which can be found on eBay for $50) and aftermarket ferrofluid for Daiwa (plus whatever fluid they use for the ATD drag).

· Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·