360 Tuna Fishers Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for some expert advice on a rod and reel for offshore fishing. This past summer I took my first tuna fishing trip, and it's all I want to do anymore. Here's my question though....... I bought a Daiwa Saltist 40 and a jigging rod, and it has proven to be a great rig for jigging for tuna. My problem is that it is not even close to adequate for grouper, aj's, etc....... I learned that the hard way after losing several big ones with this rig.

I need to know what to look for in a rod when it comes to fishing for these species of fish. I also need to know what type of reel to get as well. Like I said, I'm new to this type of fishing, but after taking several trips, I'm not interested in any other type of fishing anymore. So, I need to equip myself properly.

Thanks for your help.

·
Site Sponsor
4,162 Posts
There are ALOT of choices depending on your budget.
There are a few different actions in rods.
some guys like a moderate action, some like faster action.
and then there are different lengths.

alot goes into finding/getting the right rod for you.

i use a slatiga 30T and 50 reel.
the new OTI has a few good blanks that will work for this.
it all comes down to your budget.

and how you are fishing

·
124 Posts