Pics of blanks loaded up

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by Billy 40, Apr 25, 2008.

1. Billy 40

Billy 40 Senior Member

I have an honest question for you guys - when you pull on blanks or hang weights from them, what are you trying to see? I've seen people lifting 50#'s - is the point to show the blank doesn't break? The lifting power of the blank (which won't matter since the drag won't be set at 50#'s), the action?

Wouldn't seeing pictures of a rod with the jig weight, as well as the blank loaded up with max drag wieght hanging be more helpful?

This is a 20-40# rod with 20#'s hanging off the tip - there is nothing which helps you seeing something like this, correct?

Attached Files:

2. paul708

paul708 Site Sponsor

its just so much fun to do
    and we are bored:D

a lot of the "hardcore" rods hardly bend with he jig weight of 300g hanging

actually being a builder i HATE to see guys doing it
    but its fun
    and you can get to see the different action of rods loaded
    like the travella with weight you can see how "soft" they are compared to others
    and you can see the parabolic bend of some of the better jigging rods
    and its fun:D

is the weight off the ground with that 20-40?

3. Billy 40

Billy 40 Senior Member

Yeah, the weight is off the ground by like an inch. The knot for the loop to the weight is actually between the tip & first guide. I had the weight on a stool, and would reel up as close as I could, then lower the weight to the floor - covering my face becase I was expecting the rod to explode, lol. Roy deadlifted 40#'s with the one rated 40-60#, which I though was more 20-50# at best.

I updated my site with the blanks flexing with weight hanging, the lightest of the 4' blanks (30-50# trolling) handled 30#'s without batting an eye, and was asking for at least 15#'s more, lol.

http://northeastrodbuilders.com/blankflex.html

4. STx Fisherman

STx Fisherman Senior Member