OTI 600g or BaR-BaR

Discussion in 'Rods and Rod Blanks' started by sweetsdream, Mar 19, 2009.

1. sweetsdream

sweetsdream Guest

Long time lurker, first time poster. I love this board and there are some very knowledgeable people here. I just ordered an Accurate B2-665N and I'm looking for a rod to match for Jigging. I know many of you rave about the OTI 600g but I'm also eyeballing a BaR-BaR custom from ebay. What are you opinions? Anyone have both?

2. hstsw

hstsw Senior Member

Used both rods - IMO go with the OTI 600gr
    You get the world class service or warranty from OTI

3. lordhell

lordhell Moderator

I vote for the OTI 300g for your B2-665N. 600g is more suited to reels like the B2-30 or Alutecnos Gorilla 20. Don't know about the Bar-Bar, but from the looks of it, the OTI may be better build quality, again, I have no experience with Bar-Bar other than looking at the pics. Great warranty from OTI as well.

4. spineyman

spineyman Senior Member

I say OTI as well. TJ is awesome to talk to and deal with and the warranty is par excelance.

5. shooter75

shooter75 Member

I have several rods from Ron at Bar-Bar Tackle and I have to say he makes a hell of a good rod and customer service is top notch. I don't think you can lose with either rods.

6. fathom

fathom Lifetime Supporting Members

600gr. is for deep jigging with heavy jigs. go with 300gr.

7. SkeeterRonnie

SkeeterRonnie Senior Member

either one is nice. i think the OTI is more technique specific for jiggin. whereas you could use the Bar Bar for anything.. meaning the OTI probably is better in the sense of jigging because of the action of the tip and parabolic properties that it was designed for.

my .02.... get both, and buy another reel :)

8. hstsw

hstsw Senior Member