OK lets hear it! Whats the best jigging reel?

Discussion in 'Jigging and Popping' started by stresst, Aug 22, 2008.

1. stresst

stresst Senior Member

What do you guys think is the best conventional jigging reel out there today? Most fish are under 120lbs an occasional 200lber and thats rare. I am new to jigging and only want to buy a reel once! Lets hear it, Thanks

2. peterk814

peterk814 Senior Member

Ocea Jigger 5000P, Trinidad 40, or Saltiga 50 all upgraded with carbontex, and the shimanos with cals drag plate, and the saltiga with new bearings

3. mcgolfer

mcgolfer Guest

oceanmark blue heaven if you can find one......rick

4. Minnow

Minnow Administrator

Alutecnos Gorilla 12

5. spineyman

spineyman Senior Member

Torsa with a 50# rapid fire drag system.

6. Bret

Bret Senior Member

I still like the kaikon 4000 and the accurate 665

7. thunnus

thunnus Guest

Ocea Jigger 4000P & Accurare 665

8. rtran

rtran Senior Member

I liked the 665 when TJ let me borrow it. Now have saltiga 40.

9. stresst

stresst Senior Member

I must ask, why are you guys not going with 2 speeds? I like the alutecnos and saltiga myself, they are built like a tank. I do (plan to do) alot of jigging for cod also. These reels are for also, or do I want/need a 2 speed? Would like to buy 1 reel for both, load it with 65lb braid and be done!

10. BAOSABI

BAOSABI Senior Member

I will use my B2-665 until it implodes. Just sent it in to Accurate for internal upgrades.

11. peterk814

peterk814 Senior Member

2 speeds are unnessary, and the popular current choice the accurate 665two speed still has bugs. I expect a reel that i paid 600 dollar for to be fine when i buy it. I dont need to spend 600 and then send it back to accurate cause the clicker is not working and drag lever is overly stiff.