Newbie here frm SoCal

Discussion in 'Jigging and Popping' started by TK_82, Jan 9, 2009.

1. TK_82

TK_82 Senior Member

hello everyone. Thought i'd join this site to educate myself on the popping n jigging phenomonon taking over the world n maybe hook up with a few new fishin buddies but most of all help myself become a better fishermen. Im pretty new to offshore but been fishing freshwater n inshore salt around jetties and piers my whole life. I only recently got into goin on party boats 1/2 n 3/4 catching calicos, rockfish n bonito. but i wanna catch sum bigger fish so i plan on doing maybe a 2-3 day trip sometime dis year for sum tuna. im looking for a popping rod n a jigging rod (preferably spinner still workin on my thumbing technique) any suggestion on reel and rod combinaton to get me started? n also line, terminal tackle, hooks, jigs, poppers? :confused: any help would be greatly appreciated. thanx.

2. kidflex

kidflex Senior Member

you definitely want a spinner for popping and which ever you prefer for jigging.
    get decent gear that will stand up to the abuse and last you a while.

for $300-400 rods-
    oti 7'6" 80 lb popping rod.
    oti 300-600gm jigging rods. they also have lifetime warranty.
    smith wgj series

budget rods-
    hopper rods are a good choice. 400gm

reels-minimum
    cabo pt 60-80
    shimano saragosa 18000
    shimano twinpower 8000

there are thousands of jigs, poppers, and hooks. i use mustad hoodlum 11/0 hooks for jigs.
    tuf line xp is hard to beat for the price 65-80lb.

best thing to do is search this site and deepjigging.com, you'll pick up a ton of info

3. TK_82

TK_82 Senior Member

i was actually thinking about the oti rods n cabo 80 too. but just wanted a couple of opinions b4 i purchase a setup. n i'll check dat site out. hey kidflex thanx for ur input man. i appreciate it.

4. kidflex

kidflex Senior Member