New to Rod Building....Need Help

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by shooter75, Apr 11, 2009.

1. shooter75

shooter75 Member

Hey Guys,

Can someone point me in the right direction for a power wrapper for a newby? Id like to spend under $300 if possible. i found a Pacific Bay RodSmith Power Wrapper:Anglers Workshop - Pacific Bay RodSmith Power Wrapper
    Again I am new to this so any info would be wonderful.

Thanks
    Eric

2. d-a

d-a Senior Member

Hey Guys,

Can someone point me in the right direction for a power wrapper for a newby? Id like to spend under $300 if possible. i found a Pacific Bay RodSmith Power Wrapper:Anglers Workshop - Pacific Bay RodSmith Power Wrapper
    Again I am new to this so any info would be wonderful.

Thanks
    Eric

Most get started with a hand wrapper and then move up to a power wrapper.
    Here is a starter kit,Cabela's Premium Rod Building Set but you can make the stands yourself.

d-a

3. Jason4606

Jason4606 Tuna Club member

Like Doug said, you don't have to... But if you want to spend 3 bills, get the next step up RW3-XL. You can get it right now from Acidrod.com for $299.90. Similar to RW-3L but you get the upgraded chuck/pulley system too.

These show up on eBay all the time. If you have some time, you may be able to find a better deal on the same wrapper under different names. When searching check the pix closely and look for "deluxe aluminum chuck" in the description. There are several different companies that sell this same wrapper.

This is the one I got because I wanted one tool to turn handles, wrap and dry. There are benefits to having a separate lathe and additional dryers. But if you need something now and want an all-in-one, I think you'll really like this one.

Later,
    Jason

4. shooter75

shooter75 Member