New to BFT Jigging Looking For Rod Advice

Discussion in 'Rods and Rod Blanks' started by Strapalap, Feb 6, 2018.

1. Strapalap

Strapalap New Member

I am new to BFT jigging in the northeast and want to buy my own Jigging setup within a budget. I have been using a friend's 6' Heavy Trevala Spinner with a 20000 Saragosa. I have been reading these forums for a while trying to find a good spinning rod for jigging with no interest popping. I have read that a shorter rod is better so at this point I have a couple rods with some concerns for each.

The first is the Trevala XXH 5'6 or the Trevala F XXH rod. I was origianlly going to go either of these but I have read lots of concerns about bigger fish. Last year the 6'H lost a 150+ BFT at boat but was very long fight and I read concerns on Trevala for larger fish fight times.

I then looked into OTI and the Star Plasma 52XH. I have been heavily leaning to the Star but concerned about 7ounce minimum recommended lure weight. My ultimate question would be will using lighter Jigs be a deal breaker and would a 20000 saragosa hold up fine or should I look to upgrade to the 25000. Stella is out of price range. Any advice would greatly appreciated seeing the Star Plasma is discontinued and I would have to order elsewhere. Thanks

2. Viet_Swag

Viet_Swag Active Member

I don’t think the heavy action should impair jig action; however, I’ve only used the Plasma XH with knife jigs (~250g) for AJ not BFT. The lighter jigs would just have a more aggressive action when stroked upward, thus giving you a longer fall in the drop. Also, I thought Star Rods still manufactured the Plasma series jigging rods.

3. Viet_Swag

Viet_Swag Active Member

You can also look at the sticky thread started by ReelMe in this section of the forum. He has bendo pics of the Star Plasma jigging rods underload, so you can get a sense of the rod action and power.

4. Strapalap

Strapalap New Member