Need help putting together 2 combos

Discussion in 'Tackle and Rigging' started by red34, Jun 25, 2008.

1. red34

red34 Guest

I need some help putting together a couple of combos for popping and jigging on long-range trips out of Texas and California. I’m going to do the 36 hr trip and if I get hooked, which is a pretty safe bet, then I will probably step up to the 52 hr.

Here’s what I want:
    Popping combo:
    Okuma Salina 80 or Boca 80 w/ 65lb braid

Jigging:
    Daiwa Saltist 30T or Avet JX 6.0 (narrow spools)

These set-ups have to be either 7’ or 2-piece for traveling and I don’t want to break the bank because I am still getting into this type of fishing. My ideal rods would be an Ocean Tackle 7’6” Popping rod and a Calstar Grafighter 8’ but these are both out of my price range and the Calstar wouldn’t be travel-friendly.

Please help me out with deciding between the Salina and the Boca. I know the Boca is probably better, but I can get the Salina for about ½ price and the Boca only slightly discounted.

Thanks in advance…I can’t wait to take my 1st trips! (22 hr overnight out of Dana Point, CA and the 36 hr on either Capt John or Big E)

2. Bellyups

Bellyups Senior Member

I would spend a little more and look at the saragosa 1800 which you can fill with 80 pound spectra and use for both popping and jigging. That way you don't need to buy 2 reels.

3. tacklejunkie

tacklejunkie Member

Last fall while bringing an 80# yft boatside the reelfoot on my okuma salina
    snapped in two. I was able to boat the fish but the rod was well damaged as
    the reel ripped off the first two guides. What more can I say about okuma.
    These forums are full of good advice on spinning reels. Shimanos and Quantums seem to favor well with most even in the lower priced models.
    A jx with a $49 barefoot jigging rod and an oti popper with spheros makes
    for two budjet minded combos that should fish well until you know what you
    really want and can afford.

4. feeder