looking for palagic/live bait blanks...help please

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by newton, Feb 22, 2009.

1. newton

newton Guest

been looking for graphite or graphite/glass live bait/palagic rod or blank but i have not had much luck.

I'm looking for a very soft tip/stiff butt action for tossing live bait and lures to mahi ,kings,bonito,school tuna, large barracuda,snook etc. it will need some real power in the butt for fishing near towers/markers where big cuda like to hunt:) but yeah, the rod would mainly be targeting near offshore palagics

if anyone can recommend any blanks under$100 it would be great. i have been looking for a rod for this particular app for some time. would maybe a light tuna popping rod work well for that i need?

any advice is greatly appreciative:)
    newton

2. red34

red34 Guest

3. Jason4606

Jason4606 Tuna Club member

Hi Newton!

I'm no expert but have some ideas, and I'm sure the guys on here can help. Need some more details first...

~$100 for 1-pc blank should be doable. What about rod budget? (There are some lighter class 2-pc popping rods that come to mind, but they are obviously more $$.)

Guessing you'll toss livies and lures roughly 1-4oz, right? But what line class, overall length and max drag?

Other than light tip, what action do you prefer? Fast, Moderate-Fast, Moderate? Keep in mind some of the live bait blanks are really slow!

Thanks!
    Jason

4. jiggawhat

jiggawhat Senior Member

5. d-a

d-a Senior Member

OTI 50lb popping rod, Pm minnow for a blank there around your price point.

d-a

6. newton

newton Guest

red34, thanks for the link dude! those rods seem really close to what i'm looking for. are there any similar factory rods available? the fast action live bait models may be what i'm looking for. and they are cheaper:)

jason hello,good questions:D i would say i prefer fact action. in most cases. as far as line class, i would say 20 to 60 braid max. i'd say length wise...6'6" to 7'