Looking for advice

Discussion in 'Lure Building' started by Kuroneko, Nov 23, 2020.

1. Kuroneko

Kuroneko Member

I'm new in doing my own lures an this is my first intent in this field, so i am looking for advices and opinions to make it better IMG_20201123_152532.jpg IMG_20201123_152508.jpg

2. jiggawhat

jiggawhat Senior Member

Cut it in half and epoxy back together. That will hide all the through wire

Kuroneko likes this.

3. Kuroneko

Kuroneko Member

I thought about that, but being a little stickbaits i thought that in this way it would be more simple and tougher, that space in the belly i will fill it whit sanwdust

4. DenisB

DenisB Senior Member

Comments follow without fear or favour.
    Please take these comments as help on your luremaking journey.

This construction for a prototype is very high risk. The main issue is you have made it with a very rigid towpoint that lacks ability for adjustment. You are taking a wild stab in the dark that the towpoint location for the body design & ballast you have chosen is the right one.......this is realistically a 1 in 1000 chance you have selected correctly.
    You don't need thru wire on a prototype. Prototypes are best constructed with maximum flexibility for adjustment. Glued in twisted wire loops work excellently on prototypes & the front loop is best made longer so you have plenty of up/down adjustment to tune lure action. This way you also do not have a thru wire in the way to be able to drill holes in the belly for addition or removal of ballast.

what you need to do with a prototype is to swim it & see what it does to adjust the towpoint height & ballast till it swims the way you want it. You might find you need to change the body shape at the nose to accommodate a fixed towpoint in the right place. It depends how good your guess at body shape was as to whether shape changes are small or very large.