Leaders for Poppers

Discussion in 'Tackle and Rigging' started by outofcontrol, Apr 23, 2008.

1. outofcontrol

outofcontrol Junior member

I new to the popper game; so to my question is all this twisted leader stuff really nessary for throwing poppers in the Gulf. I have researched this topic on this forum and others and it seems to me the twisted leaders are overkill ( not trying to offend anyone ) for a 1000-3000 feet of water. I know good and well, I will not be able to rig one on the boat. If you are running a TL are the twists down to the real to grab with your finger for casting.

Does any one fish with say 65#braid to 10 feet or so of 80# mono or fluro leader with sucess?

2. Uncle Russ

Uncle Russ Senior Member

I am no expert, but, based on advice I have received on this board, I have had good success in testing by tying a 40 turn Bimini in solid braid and attaching 3 feet of 60 or 80 pound fluorocarbon via a standard Albright knot. I know others here use others.

Russ

3. Ragman

Ragman Moderator

Great question OOC!

I read of Hatidua or Fishordie -I believe- on Angler's Pro Shop forum explaining with pictures the advantages of a twisted leader for poppers.

You should search it out and at least try it. I lost the link or I would have built one to try. The explanations seemed it could be the best connection for casting poppers to tuna, and toothy, shallow reef fish with teeth.

4. Sea Crappie

Sea Crappie Senior Member

I've never used a twisted leader (they do look pretty cool though). Jinkai or Varivas 80 to 130lb leader material is all I use for YFT and have absolutely no problem.

I choose these brands because the mono is supple but very strong and abrasion resistant. The softness is necessary to use a mid-knot or P-R knot to attach your spectra main line.