knot tying and line size ?

Discussion in 'Tackle and Rigging' started by WahooMaster08, Aug 23, 2009.

1. WahooMaster08

WahooMaster08 Senior Member

I am new to using braid and have 80# pp on my reel. My question is what knot to use to tie in the top shot, recommended line for top shot and length. I was thinking of using a 65# fluro for the top shot and maybe like 25yrds in length, I am just unsure. I know by reading on here as much as I do someone can help and thanks for any and all replies.

2. hamptonsurf

hamptonsurf Senior Member

What type/size of reel? What are you using it for.

3. WahooMaster08

Avet HX, and using it for live bait mostly and I am having a rod built for it from Paul at JPR rods.

What type/size of reel? What are you using it for.

4. ksong

ksong SPONSOR

Avet HX, and using it for live bait mostly and I am having a rod built for it from Paul at JPR rods.
    If you use 80 lbs braid main line, there is no reason to use lighter 65 lbs leader line,especially when you use live bait.
    I don't use longer leader line for jigging and popping, but 25 yards are good for bait fishing which prevent knot from going through guides in and out while fighting.

5. bigscrnman

bigscrnman Senior Member

To mirror what Kil said, I would not use a lighter leader than the main line. Especially with live bait, fish are not going to be as finicky about line size. I would recomend that you learn to tie a bimini and use a good quality wind-on with a loop to loop connection. No issues with line passing through the guides in that configuration.

6. pametfisher

pametfisher Senior Member

To mirror what Kil said, I would not use a lighter leader than the main line. Especially with live bait, fish are not going to be as finicky about line size. I would recomend that you learn to tie a bimini and use a good quality wind-on with a loop to loop connection. No issues with line passing through the guides in that configuration.

Amen!

7. WahooMaster08