Jigging in GOM

Discussion in 'Jigging and Popping' started by rtran, Feb 28, 2008.

1. rtran

rtran Senior Member

I'm trying to get on a trip to do mainly jigging out of the Galveston/Freeport area. I'd like to target some of the bigger fish in the GOM...is there any guides/charter boats you guys recommend?

Rich

2. Bret

Bret Senior Member

Under Water Expeditions
    The big E is probably the best long range prospect we have on this side of the gulf. a 52hr will get you shots at yftuna, blackfin. Aj's grouper etc.. I am sure some others have some other options for you.

3. rtran

rtran Senior Member

yea im thinking thats my only resort too. im new to jigging so i am trying to find someone to go with that can show me the ropes. if not i have no choice but to wing it.

4. Grescobia

Grescobia Senior Member

The big E would be the place to start. There is a lot of fellows who do a lot of jigging on that boat

5. gman

gman Senior Member

grescobia that is some tuna

6. rtran

rtran Senior Member

I want to go month of March/April on a 52 hour as I am still getting some misc tackle together right now.

7. BretABaker

BretABaker Guest

i'm hoping to do an april trip as well......

after the 12 hour trip, they let me walk around on the big e...that boat is sweet.

oh, and if you do a day trip or anything beforehand.....you can jig all you want, just go to the bow. no one was past the benches other than me. on almost every drop i had a nice red snapper or amberjack. this is a pic of pretty much the only thing i used all day....

8. BretABaker

BretABaker Guest

Attached Files:

9. rtran

rtran Senior Member

Sweet! Maybe we can get together and make it happen. April is looking like the perfect month to go for me too but I might hop on one before that just to check it out...I got the itch...=)

10. papio

papio Senior Member

Hey Bret, is that a Hopper rod? What Size?

11. BretABaker

BretABaker Guest

it is - 4'10", up to 500g.

12. papio

papio Senior Member