360 Tuna Fishers Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. So I’m a newbie in all this tuna fishing jazz and I need your guys’s help on deciding on some gear. I’m planning to be jigging and popping for mostly bluefin and occasionally yellowfin. I want to get a Stella but can’t decide if I should get a 20000 or a 18000. Which one do you guys think would work better for both jigging and popping. I was also thinking about getting an ovum’s macaira 20000 what do you think of that idea? I also had some thoughts on the saltiga but the mag seal seems like a hassle to keep working well. Thank you in advance!!!

·
Registered
269 Posts
From New York out , u don’t need any of those reels , it is not going to be like ur thinking , u could cast whole day and just for air . But , if u really want to get into popping and jigging like most of us at beginning time , I suggest u get a 18000 for popping , a 20000 for jigging . And a 14000 for lighter set up convenience . Plus carpenters or ripple fisher or those high end popping and jigging rods. 5000 bucks should be good enough for those . Remember buy from forums not brand new , that will save u lots of money . And honestly, after couple trips , most of them will sit in ur home as collections .
Fuel tank Automotive tire Automotive lighting Automotive fuel system Fender

these are my partial collections , they just sit on my table every day with me to remind me I am still loving fishing .
Honestly, if u fishing tuna from NY or NJ , some big conventional reels like tiagra , atd , talica are more useful.
Just my little two cents , don’t want u waste ur money for popping and jigging . They are so many fun , but they are requiring too much for where u fishing , especially NY is not design for popping .

·
Registered
6 Posts