How to serve a hook?

Discussion in 'Fish Species and Techniques' started by tnhunter, May 13, 2009.

1. tnhunter

tnhunter Junior member

Hello,
    I am new to this jigging and popping and am hooked on it!!!! I have ordered most of the goodies that I need to get started. I am making my own assit hooks and not sure how to serve a hook with 700# kevlar or JB 800# hollow spectra. I also have ordered owner SJ41 hooks but the kevlar is big for the hook when doubled. Not sure how to serve a hook. Help me out guys.
    Thanks Chris

2. A.whitman

A.whitman Senior Member

3. jureal

jureal Senior Member

Andrew's link to Anglers Pro Shop is the one I use. As far as using 700# kevlar, why so heavy of a line? Btw, that link to Rons Tackle for kevlar is great. I received my shipment and the stuff is cheap and an excellent material for assist hooks.

As far as serving the hook, it is not necessary to do that but I do it anyways. I just use rod wrapping thread for the serving of the tag ends and then use a puller method to finish it off. The puller method is the same as what is used to finish off a rod wrapping. In fly tying, it is called a whipped finish to finish off the wraps on a fly.

The whipped finish:

Wrightsville Beach Fishing & Fly Tying, Whip Finish with no tool

4. Fishhead56

Fishhead56 Senior Member

I do all of the above,
    And started with a heavy Kelvar also with a , Beleive it or not
    mossey oak hollow 200 lb line for Bow fishing, for pulled through loop.
    But now tying some with Kelvar No. 30 @ 150 kg or 330 lbs from
    APS, although it can not be spliced\interlooped like a hollow. Unless you are
    Jureal who can splice almost anything :)
    Back to the point I use a bobbin with A or C rod wrap thread to serve the
    tag end to the shank of the hook. This only takes a few mins. (And
    tackle building is for spare time...).....
    Back to the point again.. I feel one tooth can hit that wrap on 1 thread