Gusa Dragon Jig Stick-Newbie Help

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by Go Deep, Apr 20, 2008.

1. Go Deep

Go Deep Member

I've been jigging for the past 3-4 yrs in the GOM using mostly custom built Seeker and a Zenaq Monster (and for a very short time a JM500M) sticks with good success on AJ's, Cuda, BF and YF. I want to start building my own sticks and this forum seems to have the folks that can help me out. Let me state up front, I know very little about rod building!

I purchased a Gusa Dragon Blank last fall and finally got tired of sitting around looking at the blank standing naked in the corner! The Dragon specs are (6 ft tall, .154 tip/#10 and a .628 dia butt rated for 50 - 100lb with a slow action). I will probably put a Tiburon SST 8/50 reel on it with upgraded drags (25lb+) using 80lb spectra.

I have a couple of questions:

Reel seat - how much larger in diameter should the reel seat be from the blank diameter? I was looking at the ALPS triangle seats, which size do I need, i was thinking the size 16 (ID .630) but is this too small? Is it better to go bigger and just fill w/ tape and epoxy? Should I just step to the next size available which I believe is a jump to a size 20 (ID .748) or find a different model reel seat in size 18. I do understand the reel seat will be located 10" above the butt where the blank diameter will be smaller (I need a set of calipers to measure it!), hence my thought that the size 16 would work. Comments?

Guides - I was looking at the ALPS XN guide w/ zirconium ring. My thoughts on sizes were 25, 20, 16, 16, 12, 12, 12 and a 10/10 tip. Any suggestions?

Gimbal - Since the Dragon has a small diam butt, I was thinking an AMTAK AG1 with and ID of .75 which is the smallest aluminum gimbal I could locate while surfing the net?

Thread sizes - what size do I need for wrapping the guides? This will be a working stick so I will keep things simple but strong.