360 Tuna Fishers Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
1,366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a rod with a rubber gimbal that I would like to replace with the "Perfection Aluminum Ball Gimbal". Is this difficult to do? I guess its just a matter of removing the rubber gimbal and glueing on the new one. What epoxy is used? Any suggestions? I need this done for a trip this weekend.

Ty

·
1,366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
some of those rubber gimbals are thought to remove , try heating it up with a heat gun. but be very careful , dont get to close to the blank. If this does not work try shaving it. There are several options in the market for glues Flexcoat 5 minutes glue is the most standard

Thanks. I have the heat gun, now just need the glue. Is there something I can get at Home Depot or Lowes?

·
675 Posts
I guess a 5 minutes 2 part epoxy glue could do the job.

I'd suggest you use something with a 30 minute or more pot life so you don't have to worry about it going off when you gettting it aligned.

The ball gimbals have a pretty good size ID so you will probably need to be build up the butt with tape. A couple on narrow bands of masking tape will work but IMO fiberglass mesh drywall tape that is full of epoxy is a much better choice.

·
1,366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
That makes good sense. I got the rubber gimbal off with the heat gun no problem. You were correct the ID of the rod vs the new gimbal do not match. The rod requires a gimbal with a 7/8" inner diameter.

Now I learned my lesson not to purchase shiny-shiny things without researching them first (yeah right).

·
2,753 Posts
Ty, its time to bring it to Sport Fishin' Outlet and let Harry take a good look.
It's possible that the rod guy has some skills to make it "perfect".

we can coordinate a visit there if you like

·
1,366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ty, its time to bring it to Sport Fishin' Outlet and let Harry take a good look.