360 Tuna Fishers Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have knowledge about Carbontex? Is it any use to change the original ones in Daiwa Dogfight or the new Stella SW? Also does anyone have experience from the Yumeya Sensitive dragknobs for the new Stella SW. Where can I get hold of Carbontex stuff the easiest way?

Thank you!

·
214 Posts
There is no need to change out a stella drag, and i'm not positive but i hear diawa is using carbontex drags on some of there saltigas. If the dogfight doesn't have them i would replace them for sure.

·
686 Posts
I still don't get why people will spend a $1000 on a reel and still have to upgrade the drag washers. I have no experience on the Saltiga spinners but my 30T has never shown any signs of having to change the drag washers out. My SWs drags have performed flawlessly so far. Maybe Daiwa made a few lemon Saltigas (hard to believe but possible) with faulty drag washers then everyone read the forums and jumped on the band wagon. I'm sure every manufacturer has produced one or two lemons but for some reason Daiwa is the most publicized.

·
Randy Bassinga
1,407 Posts
My 4500 needed changing out, the stock washers were jerky with tight drag settings, not jerky anymore....go the carbontex. The only saltigas that dont need upgrading are the s-extreme series

A lot of fellows here have killed the drags on their FI stradics, upgrading to carbontex has made a huge difference

·
220 Posts
this winter, I did upgrade Saltigat z4500, Saltiga 6500EXP, Saltiga 6500DF drags to carbontex drag.

In my expericence, drag got much much smooooother then before.

·
-- Tackle Ho --
2,784 Posts
Stella is perfect the way they are, as long as you keep the water out of sensitive parts. Saltiga in the other hand will need a carbontex upgrade (on their bigger one anyways).

·
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·