Brand new to jigging, need a little help

Discussion in 'Jigging and Popping' started by silky23, May 6, 2009.

1. silky23

silky23 Senior Member

Hello, I'm kinda new to this jigging phenom. I'm located in Central jersey. My job makes me travel alot so jigging has really caught my eye. It seems like I can now own a fishing system that is nice and compact for travelling and It seems like I can use alot of the same jigs anywhere with success. I originally got lured into this by a fellow I fished with up in LI last year. He had me sold on the Trevala rods. I own three and have not yet been able to use them yet. Then I found this site and after reading some of the threads here it sounds like what I have built up may not be enough. I do 90% of my fishing out of new jersey and long island most of which through the generosity of anglers who don't mind having a military member tag along. I am on a tight budget but this is what I've managed to scrounge up so far: Trevala f xxh spinning matched w/ a Cabo 80 loaded with #55 diawa boat, Trevala xxh conventional matched with Pelagic/ Omoto Zorro st100 2 speed loaded with #65 suffix braid, and a Trevala MH 65-100 conventional matched with an Avet MXL 5.8 loaded with #30 Momoi braid. Will I be alright out there with this stuff? Keep in mind the MH Trevala was mainly purchased for bassing and such.

2. ToneyC

ToneyC Senior Member

Silky,

Welcome to the site and thanks for your service. There are a ton of good people here and a cornucopia of help and information.

The reels you have will work fine. The rods are another story. They are okay for smaller fish but if you hook into a freight train then you will need to upgrade. I will agree with Papio and recommend the Hopper rods. They are tough as nails, reasonably light and cost effective. You can also look at Barefoot rods. Many people here will recommend both of these rods if you are budget conscious.