Assist hook related questions

Discussion in 'Jigging and Popping' started by Mark Ma, Mar 31, 2016.

1. Mark Ma

Mark Ma Member

Hi everyone,

I am kinda new to jigging, did a lot of reading and saw a lot of informative videos on it though. Tried it a few times on party boats for cod and striper in New York with Shimano flat side, did not catch anything but skate (fishing was generally bad on those days anyway).
    I booked a trip to Pulley Ridge in August with Capt. Steve from Majestic seas charters, really looking forward to do some jigging. Targeted species are snappers, groupers, mahi and blackfin.

I remember reading somewhere that bait fish are most commonly attacked behind the head, near the gills region, which is the reason assist hooks are normally located there. However, when in action, the assist hooks are usually away from the jig itself, dangling in the water. Is it a good idea to tie the hooks on the jig with rubber bands/rubber seal rings?

Also, most likely, there will be toothy fish roaming the water, such as wahoo and kingfish. I am considering to use wire assist hooks instead of the regular ones tied with Kevlar cord. I read the other thread asking about the disadvantages of steel wire assist hooks already, it seems like the main concern is that it will be seen by tunas since they have very good sight. What if I am targeting snappers, groupers and AJs? Can I use wire assist hooks without lowering my hook up rate?

Thanks,

Mark

P.S. For those who believe that fish will attack hooks and swivels, could you please explain to me why? Is there a video or some other kind of supporting material? To me, behind the head seems more natural and makes more sense.

2. jiggingnut

jiggingnut Junior member

Mark, tying your assist hook to the body of the jig to keep it just behind the gills will just interfere with the jigs' swimming pattern.

3. jiggingnut

jiggingnut Junior member