Another rigging question

Discussion in 'Tackle and Rigging' started by Mitchw123456, Nov 23, 2006.

1. Mitchw123456

Mitchw123456 Senior Member

I'm new to this whole tuna thing and cannot for the life of me figure this out: Why do people take there 50 class reels spool them up with 130# JB and use a 50# floro leader? I realize the smaller leaders are for leader shy fish but I guess my main question is why the "overkill" on the spectra? This has been stuck in my head for awhile and my only logically answer is they are set up for multi-purposes ie pulling AJs out of rigs? The reason I ask is because when I was looking into purchasing some new toys I was told my LXs wouldn't cut it for tuna so I bought a couple Avet Pro 50s (not that I'm complaining I always like an excuse for new toys) but if I can't put the full 50lbs of drag on the fish due to smaller leaders why not just stick with the LX??

2. Deep_Sea_Gull

Deep_Sea_Gull Lifetime Supporting Members

I realize the smaller leaders are for leader shy fish but I guess my main question is why the "overkill" on the spectra?

Check out the prices for 80 lb JB and then 130 lb JB. The 130 is priced cheaper and not too much bigger than the 80. Folks use it to save money.
    You can put any sized topshot on that you want to fish.

3. mcgolfer

mcgolfer Guest