Alutecnos Gorilla 12

Discussion in 'Reels' started by rtran, Oct 21, 2008.

1. rtran

rtran Senior Member

This is the reel I chose for cow tuna. The handle has been upgraded to Gorilla 20 handle courtesy of TJ - thanks =) This reel is awesome with multidisc drag and bomb proof like structure. Freespool is still good with drags set at 40lb at strike. I'm not an expert on it but it spins freely. The reel has many engravings for the drag/lever position. The drags are set with a knob on the left side of the reel. Put the reel in freespool then turn the knob on the left side plate +/-. Put the lever to strike and scale. Very easy. Looking at the other side of the reel by the handle is the clicker to the left of the handle - twist for operation. I've scaled the gorilla to 40lb at strike to pair with my JM Power Spell rod and they seem to be a great match. Enjoy the pictures.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. RoyBoy

RoyBoy Member

Very VERY Nice combination!!!!

Have spoken to one of Santa's little helpers, and have been reliably informed that there is an Alutenos Gorilla 20 on order! Can't wait for Christmas.......
    Will spool with PE8 or PE10
    Also been thinking of the Power Spell 450.

3. Jesse Lockowitz

Jesse Lockowitz Member

sweeet setup, looks beast!

40lb + still having freespool..hold on tight!

4. d-a

d-a Senior Member

Nice looking reel and rod choice. If I was targeting Cows, I would have some lugs on my jigging reel though. Atleast thats me, 40 lbs drag in a harness is doable forever, 40lbs without 30 mins on average.

d-a

5. mcgolfer

mcgolfer Guest

40lbs without a harness is a recipe for disaster imho. hell even 30 plus pounds in a harness can be deadly on a rocking boat....rick

6. njnicka

njnicka Senior Member

Rich,