360 Tuna Fishers Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi ALL,

I would like to know if this reels are good enough for Tilefish&Grouper. I will be putting 14lbs diameter (70lbs test) Daiwa Braid for STX70 and 12lbs diameter (55lbs test) Daiwa Braid for the Toro 61 and hoping to have close to 300 yards.

Will these reels hold up to these species?

·
2,753 Posts
Hey check this In-depth review of the reel you are talking about.
Abu Garcia Soron / Cardinal 807i : The Review - SurfTalk
I think the question isn't can it handle these fish, it is how long/how many times can this reel endure the beating of these fish.
Also, where are you fishing out of? NC? grouper can come in big and small varieties.

I own this reel, and I still want to try to break it... but so far in 2009 I haven't been able to.

Enoch

·
301 Posts
I've been using the Soron STX 70 for about 6 months now, its the best reel out there for the price! I got it for a $100 & caught about 11 Dorados (the biggest was 21 LBS) Barracudas, Queenfish, small Groupers. I use YGK Ultra Cast PE5. The only problem I faced was the anti-reverse started playing back-wards when I was fighting the bull Dorado, otherwise so far so good. I never wash my reels with fresh water after using them & I never service'em either. I dont think you can get 300 yards of PE6 on the spool.

·
828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The only problem I faced was the anti-reverse started playing back-wards when I was fighting the bull Dorado, otherwise so far so good.

Thanks for the replies:) When you say "Started playing backwards", it was slipping backwards? After that everything was good again? No repair needed?

·
2,753 Posts
I also found some slippage in the IAR.

I want to break this reel on amberjack in NC. The drag is strong and smooth out of the box. I was surprised when I tested it out.

·
1,102 Posts