40 HR Trip on The Dolphin

Discussion in 'Charter Boat & Party Boat' started by busfly, Aug 24, 2008.

1. busfly

busfly Guest

The recent Big E thread got me curious. I'm on a 40 hr. on the Dolphin in a couple of weeks. It says meals are included. What kind of fare can be expected (not much I would think)? When I made the reservations they quickly went over the can/cannot take with you list. If any one has any experience with this trip, what do you actually bring? Am I going to be able to bring along any between meal snacks and a cooler of any type with froazen water bottles? Do they sell beer on the longer trips/should or can I bring my own? What about the fishing gear situation? I'm not that experienced that I have any deep sea stuff. Just some shore fishing gear. Basically any and all information a newbie could get would be appreciated.

2. rtran

rtran Senior Member

I would call and ask to be sure.

3. BAOSABI

BAOSABI Senior Member

The meals are not bad on the 40hr. Lunch and dinner mostly consists of fresh fish caught during the trip. You are not aloud to bring any drinks on board. They sell all the drinks including beer of your choice. Just tell them what you want to drink while they're loading. I've brought extra drinks in my bag before such as redbull and liquor. Nobody seems to care once we're on the water. No cooler are aloud on board. If you want to bring snacks, just buy some nonperishable items and put them in your carryon bag. They do sell snacks such as chips and PB and cheese crackers. You can catch everything you want with the boat rods. Don't be shy to ask the deckhands for different rigs to target different species. Remember one thing, the bigger the bait the bigger the fish. When they stop for AJ's, find the biggest live bait in the tank and feed out your line slowly and then hold on. ;-)

I hope this helps.

4. busfly

busfly Guest

Thanks, BAOSABI. This is good info. Exactly what I needed.

5. jig

jig Senior Member