2015 Stradic Fk tuning upgrade and out of the box servicing.

Discussion in 'Reel Repair' started by LeoNYC, Aug 30, 2015.

1. LeoNYC

LeoNYC Fishing Guru

So I just received the new Stradic 3000fk and I'm very impressed with the design and execution of this reel. Now I'm not going to go ahead and provide a full forensic dissection of it but out of the box I did have the curiousity to open it up and see what changes were made. Now I've been upgrading every stradic since the inception many years ago and have provided detailed step by step uogrades of the last model FJ when it first debuted in 2012. This new FK is nothin at all like the FJ series as it shares a extremely close layout and design of the new Stella FI but with dumbed down parts to fit this price point of about 1/4 of the Stella FI. Now for the start I did notice out of the box was slightly more handle play than was acceptable for my liking as I know all reels have somewhat some play do to not putting to much stress between the maingear and pinion gear causing premature wear on the gears. So I went ahead and opened up this reel and decided to add a genuine Shimano micro gear shim to slightly reduce some of that play but still leave it buttery smooth without the handle slop rattle. This brass washer is about 0.1mm and extremely fragile to handle as it can be bent easily yet it is just enough to remove about 50% of the handle slop /play I experienced out of the box. So in order to open this new reel you will need the following tools as they now use Torx drivers t8-t7-t6 sizes to get inside plus a few regular Phillips still are used but gone away are most of the Phillips screws from the FJ, cleaner design having Torx screws IMO but can be a pain if one comes loose on the water and you don't have any torx drivers handy. Also these reels arrive practically grease less like if the execs at Shimano whip the production team for adding more grease ! So I added some ardent to the gears and teeth but not overdoing i