2 speed reels

Discussion in 'Tackle and Rigging' started by thenewkid, Jul 15, 2007.

1. thenewkid

thenewkid Senior Member

i have no knowledge of 2 speed reels yet i find myself buying one so can someone explain them to me as in how to set the drag and like are there gears how do u change gears idk im a noob lol:D :confused: :eek:

2. etan

etan Senior Member

If it is a normal 2 speed, not an automatic shift Tiberon, It will have a button that you push in for low gear and a lever you push to go to high gear. To adjust the drag put the lever drag to freespool and then increase the drag with the drag knob. Put the lever drag to strike and read the amount of drag on a scale while pulling on the rod and reel. Keep adjusting the drag until you get a setting of 25% to 33% of the line rating. The main thing I would say is be sure to always put the reel in freespool before adjusting the drag setting to avoid damage to the reel. The reel directions will tell you all this also but since no one had responded I thought that I would because I know you are excited about the reel. What kind of reel are you getting?

kellerman2006 likes this.

3. thenewkid

thenewkid Senior Member

as my budget in damn near none existant i am settling for an okuma titus silver 50w 2 speed mounted on a penn v series rod nto bad but not top notch
    but i have seen it land 100+ pound YFT so i thinks its a decent reel for my purposes

4. etan

etan Senior Member