![]() |
|
|||||||
| Home | Forum | Reviews | Gallery | Games | Register | FAQ | Members List | Trip Calendar |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#11 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 85
![]() |
Some hints on when and when not to order from the internet:
Something is fishy when: (1) There is no contact number (2) Can't pay by credit card or paypal and accepts only wires (once payment is through, there is no recourse) (3) Prices are too good to be true Mrbill, don't even give a cent to them, wire cost you 35bucks and the cheapest item is an Avet going for 89 bucks, give that to charity and you still get some tax relief... give it to them, you won't even get a thank you!Lastly, anything from Indonesia; better think twice. Navy in the day and pirates in the dark.... Randy Last edited by Anglers Pro Shop : 10-27-2006 at 07:15 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,143
![]() |
Thanks, T.J. (and everyone else). Actually it appears they have a $1,000.00 minimum order--probably to prevent experiments with the smal stuff. And another thing that is really really fishy (pun intended) is their special offer: 20 reels, including several Tiagras, I believe, several Stellas, and several Trini 50 s for a flat $3,000.00. Sheesh. Anyway, I passed on the tips to my friend, and he is still toying with the idea of getting 3 other guys to go in with him to spread the risk and roll the dice. The pity is he has enough dough to consider it a roll of the dice. Ah me. And with my luck, it will work out for him, and I won't be able to gloat.
Russ
__________________
"Tschirhart: Helluva deal. You bait the hooks--I catch the fish!--Grimm." |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 (permalink) |
|
Junior member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
![]() |
mate - don't even go near this site. Scam sites in Indonesia are notorious in this part of the world. We see them popping up on ebay.com.au all the time before ebay closes them down. You see them selling all sort of high end things, particularly watches. It's a shame that people still get taken in on ebay by people with no history selling high end items.
The reels on this site are being sold below cost price. If something looks too good to be true............ |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,143
![]() |
Folks,
I passed on your advice as well as my own--my friend sent an email to the company with--I don't know what questions. It was not returned. Nuff said. Thanks. Russ
__________________
"Tschirhart: Helluva deal. You bait the hooks--I catch the fish!--Grimm." |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) |
|
Junior member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
![]() |
Be Afraid
Dudes,
I just donated 1239.00 to Jual Reels (Perintis Sarana Pancing) and was a fool. I am changing the account number of my bank- so far I have not been robbed of more than I donated. I was only hoping to buy 6 reels, sell 5 and have one for me. Alas. I have since done a lot of homework and one thing to ask in these things is for a list of three references from the the U.S. with phone numbers. The other might be, and admittedly I don't know how it works, is to use an escrow company. There are several trading websites--alibaba.com-- is one and Perintis Sarana Pancing was once listed there and is now gone. The jualreels.com website is slick as a button, but once I posted my wire transfer, I have not heard a word. I pray I don't lose my life savings. There is a real Perintis Sarana Pancing who manufacture fishing hooks in Indonesia, I called them and that was a real treat-- the lady I spoke with felt compassion for me too, but the number for jualreels (011-62-61-777-25538) puts you into an automated voice in Indonesian. I have no idea what it said. I dang skippy never spoke to a human. Ronald R., sales manager, was very nice until he had my money. If my reels show up, I will post back. He has been in business since 2000. I figured it was okay. Welcome to the world of international commerce. shoot me an e-mail if you have any more questions. |
|
|
|
|
|
#17 (permalink) |
|
Junior member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
![]() |
I'm in Thailand and we see scams similar to this in this part of the world all the time. These people pray on peoples greed. If they really were that price they would have to be stolen, there is nowhere that sells that stuff that cheap legitimatley. We all know that right?
I'm sorry you lost your money but you really can't be that surprised can you? I mean in order they could sell them that cheap they would have to be dishonest right? So why would you transfer money to someone in one of the worlds top counrties for fraud when you already know that even if the deal is true that person is dishonest. So eigher these guys have stolen from someone else to give to you cheap........... Or they're just gonna steal from you....... If it sounds too good to be true it's normally because it isn't. Last edited by ha sip ha sip : 11-10-2006 at 03:54 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#18 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,143
![]() |
I too am sorry for your loss. When my buddy approached me with this, I will admit that I was tempted--but only for a moment. What the heck, I don't know what the markup on reels is--that having been said, coming from an economy like Japan's with such high wages, it is unlikely at best that their product would ever be discounted even half that much. The prospect that they might have been in the business of credit card fraud sealed the deal for me. Still, my friend was going to go ahead with the minimum order, until he tried the email which went unanswered. Pretty good indicator.
Russ
__________________
"Tschirhart: Helluva deal. You bait the hooks--I catch the fish!--Grimm." |
|
|
|
|
|
#19 (permalink) |
|
Administrator
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 69
![]() |
You guys have to watch out and not give out personal infos to those indonesian store. They have a lot of carders (people who make fake visa/mastercard cards based on your info) and checks fraud. and if they insist on esrow, use established escrow such as escrow.com.
sometimes if it's too good to be true then it is ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#20 (permalink) |
|
Junior member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
![]() |
Yeah another trick of these guys is to have the credit card section set up on the site, they will take the credit card details, then pretend that there is a problem with the site. You then are asked to transfer the money to their bank account. They will ask you for a few more personal details, they may say they need a passport scan or similar to clear the credit card problem.
They now have your cash that you transfered. Your credit card details. Some extra personal details (passport scan) Your Address. What they can do with all that info is pretty damn scary!!! |
|
|
|